Shore-Whitehill Award

The Shore-Whitehill Award, created in 1996, is named for Robert Whitehill and the late Barbara Shore and celebrates volunteers (this will likely be changed to “volunteers and professionals who go above and beyond”) who promote inclusion of people with disabilities in the fabric of Jewish life through advocacy or direct service to individuals and families. The Shore-Whitehill Award is given annually by the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh and Jewish Residential Services. Awardees are recognized at an event planned by the nominating agency (I hope to add “during JDAIM (Jewish Disability Awareness and Inclusion Month, which is February.) Past winners include: Judy Greenwald Cohen, Laura Marshak, Mara Kaplan, Jane Yahr, Daniel Leger, Carol Tabas, Matthew Keller, Lisa Lederer and Dorothy Pollon.